Inside Parachute

Bruce Peninsula Safe Communities Designation – Q&A

In conversation with Bruce Peninsula Safe Communities Co-chair Terry Bell

On June 14, 2017, the Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula and the Town of South Bruce Peninsula came together to become the 68th Parachute Designated Canadian Safe Community. Parachute asked Bruce Peninsula’s Safe Communities Co-chair Terry Bell some Q&As about the process of achieving this milestone and plans for the future. 

Parachute: Why did you initially seek designation?

Terry Bell: Our community relies rather heavily on the summer tourism industry. We felt designation as a safe community is important, and would also enhance our tourism profile. 

Parachute: What were (if any) your obstacles during this process, and how did you overcome them?

Terry Bell: Originally, it was difficult finding a time that was suitable for most potential committee members. We were holding our meetings at 7:00 p.m. on the first Thursday of the month. That time was not working. People did not want to give up their evening for yet another meeting. We changed the time to 3:30 p.m. and our attendance improved substantially. We found more committee members could attend during regular business hours.

Parachute: What does a designation and participation in the Parachute network mean to you and your community?

Terry Bell: The designation is like icing on the cake for our community. We have members who are genuinely committed to our efforts in making our community a safer place for all our citizens. They are involved because they want to be! This committee is an action committee which I’m proud to be a part of.

Parachute: What do you hope to gain from this designation?

Terry Bell: Our group has been together for three years now. We have addressed five community concerns successfully. We have gained a reputation as a committee that gets things done! We have gained the respect of the community and most importantly their trust.

Parachute is thrilled to welcome the Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula and the Town of South Bruce Peninsula as our newest designated Safe Community. We look forward to working together to help stop the clock on preventable injury.